You are never the exception.

13445429_10207948147675346_2998236405837608017_n.jpg

The other day I was walking around downtown Boston and was amazed by the number of people who I came into contact with. The number of people that could have an opposing view than me. The number of people who were a different race than me. The number of people who had a different religion than me. The number of people that worked different jobs than me. The number of people who wore different clothes than me. The number of people who could vote differently than me. I come from a very small, and secluded town, so whenever I go somewhere new, it opens my eyes. As I was walking, I came across this quote from World War II, and was shocked at the relevance that it had towards the upcoming election, as well as the relevance it had to the human experience, which so many of us lose sight of in the grind of our day to day lives.

We often become secluded in our thoughts, desensitized, and unconsciously unaware of what is happening to those around us. The one thing we all know, as truth, is that we are all human, and just like chipmunks, elephants, or our dogs, we all do things that are characteristic of our species. As humans we are characteristically blameful, selfish, judgmental, and followers. At the same time, we are characteristically optimistic, loving, and nurturing. As humans, we also have the innate ability to make conscious decisions based on past, present, and future experiences. As a species we need to harness our good characteristics and innate qualities to move forward. In the end, we are all the same, and it is our responsibility, as humans, to do for others, as we want done to us.

Leave a Reply

